Romance in Entertainment Weekly

Entertainment Weekly magazine had an interesting article this week. They announced the on-line version will have a “roundup” (reviews) of the latest romance novels. I was so proud that in the short article they hadn’t said the two words I hate (initials are B. R.). Then I pulled up the column on-line. There were those […]

So What’s Next?

So What’s Next?

If you’ve been wondering about what I’ve been up to and what you should expect next from me, here’s a little information. Presently, I finished a book I’ve been working on and off for a handful of years. Book one in my Southern Crime Family series. It will be first of three I hope to […]

On Sale!

Hidden Heat is on sale for 99 cents for a limited time. Sexy undercover cop infiltrates a motorcycle gang and meets former MC president’s daughter with a smart-mouth. Hot sex and danger. Be sure to check it out and buy! Amazon Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Books  

First Line Short Story

Yesterday, I went to a workshop my writers group sponsored, and it was so much fun. The presenter mainly talked about motivation. As in how a writer can use encouragement or habits to put their butt in a chair and write every day. Otherwise, you will never get done that book, short story, or article […]

The Beast Inside

I’m screaming inside right now. That’s what happens when you hear news you don’t want. As a reasonable human being with manners, you know you should never scare the people around you. You should grin and bear it. Never let people see you cry or be upset. Otherwise, you’ll have to explain what happened. When […]

Recommendations

Lately, I’ve realized how much I miss holding and reading a paperback book. Plus I hate how all of my e-books are all jumbled together. No matter how I set up categories in iBooks or Kindle, I still find myself thumbing through several unfinished books to find a new one. Then I’m not sure if […]

Naked Heat’s Video

I did one other video for a book back in 2011. It was for Circle of Desire, my debut book. Since then I’ve learned a lot. Click on the link, and it’ll take you to YOUTUBE to watch my newest. WordPress wants me to pay to show it here. I haven’t decided on upgrading here […]

Get It While You Can

Sizzling with passion and suspense, perfect for fans of Joanna Wylde and Julie Ann Walker, the Brothers of Mayhem series revs up as a headstrong beauty faces off against an outlaw motorcycle club—and falls for the bad boy she never saw coming.   Cassidy Ryder refuses to be intimidated by anyone, even the hell-raising, hard-drinking […]

Haiku for Circle of Desire

Some years ago, another author interviewed me and asked for a haiku about my debut book, Circle of Desire. So here it is. Even wintry men Find women to be a test In their heated beds That was fun. I’m not saying I’m good at it, but I do believe I found something new. She […]

Same Tale, Different Story

Same Tale, Different Story

Some years ago, I had an interviewer to ask me, how does it feel to compete with established writers?  I thought you might like to see my answer. Wow! That’s really a good question. I guess I’ve never really thought of my becoming published as a competition with other authors. Maybe because I’m aware of the […]

What Did You Say?

So you’re planning to speak to a group of writers. Most guest speakers will give a little spiel about themselves.  All good. Be sure to tell the things that have relevance to what you’re going to talk about. Sure, you can include a short little story about that time you climbed a mountain, but make […]

What the heck…

Lately, I’ve been struggling with my writing time. So much going on in my life. Nothing bad, just a lot of things and several changes. One is that we’re moving this summer out of our home of twenty-four years. Plus the summers are crazy at the day-job. Lots of overtime. And I need to learn […]

My Latest Recommendations

As I mentioned before, I listen to audio books on my drive to the day job and back. Well, actually anywhere that takes tens minutes or more, such as trips to Nashville (Go Preds!), luncheons, conferences, and writers’ meetings. This week, I enjoyed Shadow Music: A Novel by Julie Garwood. A story set in the […]

Researching Mundane Words

The things you learn when you double check something you’ve never really thought about such as the difference between button-down and button-up shirts. I’ve always called a dress shirt (besides dress shirt) a button-up shirt. Well, it turns out that’s wrong. A button-down shirt includes the button on each collar to hold it in place […]

Giveaways!

I have two paperback books (six copies of each) in the Goodreads giveaways.  In fact, one of them is actually two novellas. Anyway, check it out. Giveaway ends May 15, 2017.  USA only. Sorry, but I have to pay the postage. Click here for the NAKED HEAT: A Brothers of Mayhem novel. The last book about […]

Enough is Enough

[Reprint of post from Romance Magicians’ blog May 29, 2011] This still applies and maybe will help others to understand the need to continue and be dedicated in becoming published with a traditional publisher or in finishing a novel and becoming self-published.   When is enough enough? I’ve thought about this a lot the last […]

What Have I Been Reading?

What Have I Been Reading?

If you’re wondering how I find time to read, what with a full-time demanding job, and writing a novel at the same time. That doesn’t include attending my writing groups’ (two beloved RWA chapters) meetings. On top of all that, I’m a hockey fan, and I watch every game my team plays (GO PREDATORS!), and […]

A Scene From My Next Book

Over five years ago, I started on the book I’m about to reveal a scene from, but I put it to the side to write two novellas (self published) and three full novels (two for Loveswept and one self published) along with three partials (a tale for another time). But I can’t get the characters […]

Deadly Sex

Circle of Desire was my debut book. Sure there are a few things I would change about the book, that is if I had written it recently, but overall, I love that story. My favorite thing about the book is that the heroine is just as dangerous as the hero. And the hero knows it […]

Poetry and Sex

When I think of Jack Drago in Circle of Defiance, I think of how different he is from all the other heroes in my books. He loves cats. In fact, owns a white one named Kinky. His best friend is a female (Marie from Circle of Danger), and strangely, considering how he falls in love with […]

Relationships in My Books

Recently, I read an interesting article about how readers enjoy seeing the relationships in an author’s books spelled out on her website or blog. So here you go. Be careful. There are some spoilers. THE CIRCLE NOVELS (Circle of: Desire, Danger, Deception, Dishonor, Defiance) Olivia St.Vincent (DESIRE) – trained by Theodore Palmer  (leader of The […]

The Emerald City

Being a published author is like being Dorthy going to the Emerald City. You want to get to that beautiful, magical place of where your wonderful story will be presented to the world. But you have to go through trials and detours. Scary things like flying monkeys trying to hold you back and witches trying […]

What You Can Learn From a Movie

Yes. I’m revisiting old blog posts from my stint at the Romance Magicians’ blog. Here’s another favorite from May 28, 2006. It still applies. What you can learn from Batman Begins, and how it applies to writing. 1) If you want something bad enough, you’ll climb mountains for it. (If you wish to be published, […]

Ten Things I Hate About Writing

If you follow me here or on Facebook, you know that I love lists. This is one I did at the Romance Magics’ blog back on August 14, 2009. 10. I hate how I have to wait months and months (I’m a slow writer) before I can find out how my own book ends. 9. I […]

A Hero’s and Heroine’s Top Five Traits by Olivia St. Vincent

[Reprint of my post on 08/15/2014 at the Romance Magicians blog; it was so much fun, I thought it worth repeating here.] Carla’s busy for the next couple of weeks. So she wanted my help in writing her post, and I told her I would on one condition, that she write me into her latest book. […]

How Do You Know You’re A Writer?

You know you’re a writer when…. 10. You have a reputation at your day job of being a workaholic. What other reason would you grumble and talk to yourself as you type on your computer during lunch? 9. You write your child’s excuse for an absence and the teacher begs for the last three chapters. […]

Things That Turn You On

The other day, I was re-watching a simple video (click here to go to my Facebook page to see it) I had made of a ice hockey netminder warming up before the second period of play. The way he skated back and forth to the beat of the music was so hypnotizing. I find myself […]

Walks Like A Panther

How many times in numerous books have we heard the hero walks like a panther or tiger or some creature on the prowl? They’re cliches, but I understand the concept. He has a smooth step with a determined gaze. It makes me think of a certain actor named John. No. Not John Travolta. He’s known […]

About NAKED HEAT

Being a love ’em and leave ’em sort of guy, Wolf never expects to fall for Sofia Cruz. But he keeps their dating low-key, only talking about the here and now. All is good until he discovers her cousin is the leader of the hated Thirty-Second gang. Before their relationship becomes any deeper, he breaks […]

What? Another Newsletter?

What? Another Newsletter?

Today, I noticed my newsletter had 76 new subscribers to sign up this month. WOW! That was awesome, but when I looked at the list I noticed some were Spam addresses (9). Then I noticed quite a few of the older subscribers were not even opening my newsletters. Hadn’t for the last six or more […]

Love My Shirt

For those who don’t know, I love hockey. See the jersey my husband’s cousin and his wife got me? I LOVE IT! I promise, Dan, I’ll get hubby to take my picture when I wear it. I’ve worn it at home a couple times already. I have three favorite hockey players on the Nashville Predator’s […]

Cover Reveal To The World

My book, NAKED HEAT, is coming out February 21, 2017. How appropriate is it that’s Sticky Bun Day? LOL! I guess I will be giving away sticky buns that day or something similar. Anyway, here’s the cover. My newsletter subscribers saw it last week. Click here to get news before everyone else.

Cover Reveal Coming Soon

Want to see my cover for NAKED HEAT, the third book in the Brothers of Mayhem series?  The cover will be in my next newsletter. By the way, all of the books are stand-alones, but in the same world of hot bikers. Click here to sign up for my newsletter.  I plan to send it […]

Book Signing Etiquette For Authors

Since my first book signing in 2012 at the RWA Literacy Event in Anaheim, I’ve been involved in numerous others. Some have been a bust and some have been wonderful. But I’ve found that some authors don’t understand how rude they can be to other authors during one. You thought I was going to talk […]

Let’s Celebrate With Giveaways

Today, I’m celebrating five years and seven books in publishing. On Tuesday, October 18, 2011, is when it all began, and I want to thank those who have and will read my books. I’m giving away swag (cups, pens, jar openers -the red circle, book marks, etc.), and books, and gift cards. How do you […]

Celebration Starts Tomorrow

Tomorrow, let’s celebrate with giveaways.

Letter to Realtors

In the next six months, hubby and I plan to sell our house of 23 years and move closer to the grandkids and our moms.  Presently, we’re around an hour away and the traffic between the families are getting worse each year.   So we’re moving into the country on the other side of the […]