Hat Trick, Power Play, and an Empty Net Goal

A few years ago, if you had asked me what the above meant, I would have thought you were talking about a new video game. For those who don't know, they are hockey terms. You're probably wondering what is a nice southern girl doing becoming involved in a Yankee game.  Heck, there's rarely any ice [...]

Have You Lost Your Marbles

When I was a kid, boys played with marbles. Girls played with jacks. I felt we girls got gypped. Marbles were so pretty. Thankfully, I had a male cousin who was cool enough to teach me how to play. My sister used to love to heat marbles in a pan. It cracked the glass. Looked [...]

In The Fast Food Lane

In The Fast Food Lane

Like many Americans I love to eat fast food and most times, I enjoy walking in and taking it easy before heading back to the day job. One thing I noticed is all fast food places have skinny parking places. Really? What are they trying to do? Keep us from coming inside? Make us use [...]

Quote from Full Heat

"A sprinkle of cherry blossoms floated over a cheek, down one leg to behind her knee. What else did the woman have hidden?" Storm watching Mary Jane walk naked into his bedroom   Amazon iBooks Barnes and Noble Kobo Books Google Play Books a Million

Want to know what’s happening?

If you love my books, be sure to join my Readers FB page. https://www.facebook.com/groups/954031328070854/ I do giveaways and talk about what I'm writing and will be asking your opinions on book covers, etc. Of course, if you're interested in receiving my newsletter, click here. I send them out a few times a year.

Divorce and Fancy Towels

Over the years, I've read many romances where the heroine or hero had children with a divorced (or never married) spouse. I find it all interesting to see how younger authors handle the situation. It appears to be one extreme to the other. The parents get along like old distant friends to pure hate for [...]

Giveaways For Fun

This is a copy of the email I sent out today to my newsletter list. Being a fan of my books, I thought you might like the opportunity to come and win a bag of author swag (some of mine but lots of other authors), including signed copies of NAKED HEAT and CIRCLE OF DECEPTION. [...]

Quote from Naked Heat

“Technically, we haven’t had sex yet, but sex is fun and should always be. That’s the best time to laugh.” Then as if he’d heard what he said, he quickly added, “That is as long as you’re not pointing at my dick when you do it.” ~~Wolf Savalas     AMAZON BARNES AND NOBLE KOBO [...]

Love and Hate of the Outlander Series (Books)

First, let me say I LOVE the character Jamie in the book and TV series. His character is well-written, manly man with emotions and all the charm of what an American can imagine a Scotsman would be. He's the only reason I listen to the books or watch any of the TV series. There is [...]

I Love Bookmarks!

I want to mention something I feel strongly about. When my writers group's luncheon was over, I went to the large trash can to throw away an empty box. I looked in and to my horror were LOTs of bookmarks, booklets, post cards, in other words, paper promo out of at least two giveaway bags. [...]

Stories from Dark to Light

Stories from Dark to Light

Readers are really benefiting from all of the independent publishing. You like dark romance, you have your choice of how dark. Want a romantic comedy? Yep, you bet your sweet bippy they're out there. How about erotica? What type? BDSM? Of course, sir. Age play? Yes, Papa. Have a fetish? There's a book out there [...]

Romance in Entertainment Weekly

Entertainment Weekly magazine had an interesting article this week. They announced the on-line version will have a "roundup" (reviews) of the latest romance novels. I was so proud that in the short article they hadn't said the two words I hate (initials are B. R.). Then I pulled up the column on-line. There were those [...]

So What’s Next?

So What’s Next?

If you've been wondering about what I've been up to and what you should expect next from me, here's a little information. Presently, I finished a book I've been working on and off for a handful of years. Book one in my Southern Crime Family series. It will be first of three I hope to [...]

On Sale!

Hidden Heat is on sale for 99 cents for a limited time. Sexy undercover cop infiltrates a motorcycle gang and meets former MC president's daughter with a smart-mouth. Hot sex and danger. Be sure to check it out and buy! Amazon Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Books  

First Line Short Story

Yesterday, I went to a workshop my writers group sponsored, and it was so much fun. The presenter mainly talked about motivation. As in how a writer can use encouragement or habits to put their butt in a chair and write every day. Otherwise, you will never get done that book, short story, or article [...]

The Beast Inside

I'm screaming inside right now. That's what happens when you hear news you don't want. As a reasonable human being with manners, you know you should never scare the people around you. You should grin and bear it. Never let people see you cry or be upset. Otherwise, you'll have to explain what happened. When [...]

Recommendations

Lately, I've realized how much I miss holding and reading a paperback book. Plus I hate how all of my e-books are all jumbled together. No matter how I set up categories in iBooks or Kindle, I still find myself thumbing through several unfinished books to find a new one. Then I'm not sure if [...]

Naked Heat’s Video

I did one other video for a book back in 2011. It was for Circle of Desire, my debut book. Since then I've learned a lot. Click on the link, and it'll take you to YOUTUBE to watch my newest. WordPress wants me to pay to show it here. I haven't decided on upgrading here [...]

Get It While You Can

Sizzling with passion and suspense, perfect for fans of Joanna Wylde and Julie Ann Walker, the Brothers of Mayhem series revs up as a headstrong beauty faces off against an outlaw motorcycle club—and falls for the bad boy she never saw coming.   Cassidy Ryder refuses to be intimidated by anyone, even the hell-raising, hard-drinking [...]

Haiku for Circle of Desire

Some years ago, another author interviewed me and asked for a haiku about my debut book, Circle of Desire. So here it is. Even wintry men Find women to be a test In their heated beds That was fun. I'm not saying I’m good at it, but I do believe I found something new. She [...]

Same Tale, Different Story

Same Tale, Different Story

Some years ago, I had an interviewer to ask me, how does it feel to compete with established writers?  I thought you might like to see my answer. Wow! That’s really a good question. I guess I’ve never really thought of my becoming published as a competition with other authors. Maybe because I’m aware of the [...]

What Did You Say?

So you're planning to speak to a group of writers. Most guest speakers will give a little spiel about themselves.  All good. Be sure to tell the things that have relevance to what you're going to talk about. Sure, you can include a short little story about that time you climbed a mountain, but make [...]

What the heck…

Lately, I've been struggling with my writing time. So much going on in my life. Nothing bad, just a lot of things and several changes. One is that we're moving this summer out of our home of twenty-four years. Plus the summers are crazy at the day-job. Lots of overtime. And I need to learn [...]

My Latest Recommendations

As I mentioned before, I listen to audio books on my drive to the day job and back. Well, actually anywhere that takes tens minutes or more, such as trips to Nashville (Go Preds!), luncheons, conferences, and writers' meetings. This week, I enjoyed Shadow Music: A Novel by Julie Garwood. A story set in the [...]

Researching Mundane Words

The things you learn when you double check something you've never really thought about such as the difference between button-down and button-up shirts. I've always called a dress shirt (besides dress shirt) a button-up shirt. Well, it turns out that's wrong. A button-down shirt includes the button on each collar to hold it in place [...]

Giveaways!

I have two paperback books (six copies of each) in the Goodreads giveaways.  In fact, one of them is actually two novellas. Anyway, check it out. Giveaway ends May 15, 2017.  USA only. Sorry, but I have to pay the postage. Click here for the NAKED HEAT: A Brothers of Mayhem novel. The last book about [...]

Enough is Enough

[Reprint of post from Romance Magicians' blog May 29, 2011] This still applies and maybe will help others to understand the need to continue and be dedicated in becoming published with a traditional publisher or in finishing a novel and becoming self-published.   When is enough enough? I’ve thought about this a lot the last [...]

What Have I Been Reading?

What Have I Been Reading?

If you're wondering how I find time to read, what with a full-time demanding job, and writing a novel at the same time. That doesn't include attending my writing groups' (two beloved RWA chapters) meetings. On top of all that, I'm a hockey fan, and I watch every game my team plays (GO PREDATORS!), and [...]

A Scene From My Next Book

Over five years ago, I started on the book I'm about to reveal a scene from, but I put it to the side to write two novellas (self published) and three full novels (two for Loveswept and one self published) along with three partials (a tale for another time). But I can't get the characters [...]

Deadly Sex

Circle of Desire was my debut book. Sure there are a few things I would change about the book, that is if I had written it recently, but overall, I love that story. My favorite thing about the book is that the heroine is just as dangerous as the hero. And the hero knows it [...]

Poetry and Sex

When I think of Jack Drago in Circle of Defiance, I think of how different he is from all the other heroes in my books. He loves cats. In fact, owns a white one named Kinky. His best friend is a female (Marie from Circle of Danger), and strangely, considering how he falls in love with [...]

Relationships in My Books

Recently, I read an interesting article about how readers enjoy seeing the relationships in an author's books spelled out on her website or blog. So here you go. Be careful. There are some spoilers. THE CIRCLE NOVELS (Circle of: Desire, Danger, Deception, Dishonor, Defiance) Olivia St.Vincent (DESIRE) - trained by Theodore Palmer  (leader of The [...]

The Emerald City

Being a published author is like being Dorthy going to the Emerald City. You want to get to that beautiful, magical place of where your wonderful story will be presented to the world. But you have to go through trials and detours. Scary things like flying monkeys trying to hold you back and witches trying [...]

What You Can Learn From a Movie

Yes. I'm revisiting old blog posts from my stint at the Romance Magicians' blog. Here's another favorite from May 28, 2006. It still applies. What you can learn from Batman Begins, and how it applies to writing. 1) If you want something bad enough, you’ll climb mountains for it. (If you wish to be published, [...]